Nepal qualified for T-20 World Cup after 10 years

Nepal qualified for T-20 World Cup after 10 years

After 10 years, Nepal has qualified for the T20 World Cup. After defeating the United Arab Emirates (UAE) by 8 wickets at Mulpani Maidan in Kathmandu on Friday, Nepal qualified for the T20 World Cup to be held in America and West Indies in June 2024.

Earlier, Nepal played the T20 World Cup in Bangladesh in 2014. While chasing the target of 135 runs given by UAE at Moolpani ground, Nepal’s Ashif Shaikh scored the highest 63 runs. Similarly, captain Rohit Paudel added 35 runs, Gulsan Jha 22, Kushal Bhurtel added 11 runs.

Nepal’s Kushal Malla took 3 important wickets to stop UAE batting first at a moderate score. He bowled 3 overs and took 3 wickets for 11 runs. Similarly, Sandeep Lamichhane took 2 wickets, Sompal Kami and Rohit Paudel took 1 wicket each.

Oman has also qualified for the World Cup from the qualifying match held in Kathmandu.

After the selection of Nepal and Oman, 18 teams have been selected to play the T20 World Cup in 2024. A total of 20 teams will compete in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. In which West Indies and America are the hosts and have been selected directly. Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka, who are in the top eight in the 2022 T20 World Cup, have been directly qualified.

After the T20 World Cup, Bangladesh and Afghanistan have also secured their place on the basis of being higher in the rankings. Ireland, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Canada have confirmed their place in the T20 World Cup from the T20 World Cup Regional Qualifiers.

The two teams will qualify for the World Cup from the Africa Qualifier Final to be held in Namibia from November 20 to December 1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *